2019 Member Meeting a Success!

Despite the rain and the cold over eighty members made the trek to our annual members meeting on Friday January 11th (over twenty of them by bike!). Name badges included the number of years each person has been a member, leading to some great stories and shared memories of how the Sonoma County Bike Coalition has grown over the years.

After a tasty dinner, we heard from our 2019 Board of Directors candidates, acknowledged our super volunteers, and had a lively discussion about bike-related activities and politics.

Board of Directors

Incumbents Alex Mallonee, John Murphy, and Jenny Bard were re-elected and joined by new Directors Bjorn Griepenburg and Cathy Balach. Chris Culver and Bob Stender will continue for another year. Ken Quinto and Genevieve Franklin stepped down. THANK YOU ALL for your service!


Minona Heaviland and Beth Dodge were recognized as our Volunteers of the Year for their exemplary participation in our Safe Routes to School and Valet Bicycle Parking programs in 2018.


Presentation & Discussion

Copies of our 2018 Annual Report were available for review. Executive Director Eris Weaver briefly hit the highlights and then outlined some of her visions for the upcoming year. The assembled membership was then invited to share their ideas for events, programs, and advocacy priorities. We got into a lively political discussion about the upcoming election for SMART Board of Directors.  Afterward, folks continued socializing and signing up to volunteer for upcoming  activities.

A BIG THANK YOU to Gary Helfrich and Spud Donaghy for masterminding (and paying for!!!) dinner!! They were assisted in cooking, serving, and cleaning up by Joe Ehm, Jenny Bard, Vicki Duggan, Tom Bahning, Octavio Gutierrez, Jake,  Eden, and others.